Institutional Distinctiveness

Excellence across Various Domains

Ananda Chandra College, a centre of learning and culture in northern part of West Bengal, has been showing distinctiveness in various fields.

Since inception of the college, faculty members have been involved in diligent research activities along with efficient teaching. In fact, in the first decade of the college Sri R. M. Lahiri, faculty member in the Department of History, was a Ph.D. degree holder, a very rare achievement in those days. The tradition has been continuing till date as a majority of the faculty members serving in substantive posts now are doctoral degree holders. Thus, the faculty members remain associated with research and teaching activities simultaneously from the early days till today. Even today, some faculty members are officially guiding scholars in their research pursuits. Some scholars have already attained Ph.D degree under their supervision.

Our institution has a formidable team of 115 faculty members, dedicated to nurturing the minds of our students and fostering a culture of learning and growth. Dr Sudip Chakraborty, faculty, Department of Economics has been a Fulbright Visiting Professor and has taught at some of the leading universities in the USA. He has also delivered lectures at numerous colleges and universities globally.

We are one of the only institutions in the region offering Mass Communication as a subject. Moreover, our curriculum encompasses an array of specialized courses such as Microbiology, Physical Education, and Physiology, setting us apart from neighboring colleges. With 20 academic departments under our wing—comprising 9 Science subjects and 11 subjects in the humanities and social sciences—we offer a diverse spectrum of academic courses. With a sizable student population of 5000, our college community is diverse, vibrant, and bustling with activity. This large student body brings together individuals from various backgrounds, culture, and walks of life.

The institution has been a hub of vibrant cultural activities, driven by the collective efforts of students, teachers, and non-teaching staff alike. For example, the college souvenir informs us that in 1944 a drama entitled 'Shesh Parjonto ',written by Narayan Gangopadhya, eminent

writer as well as the then faculty member of the Department of Bengali, was staged by the students. In the following decades a number of dramas and theatres were staged, thanks to the endeavours of the teachers, non-teaching staff and students. The first English performances of William Shakespeare's plays in North Bengal, had happened in the auspices of this college in the 1970s. Carrying on that rich legacy, the Drama Club was formally convened in 2022 by Samik Dasgupta, Department of English. The Drama club has staged four plays by May 2023. These productions showcase the creative talents of students and contribute to the vibrant cultural atmosphere of the college. Sukanya Mustak, a student of this college, secured first place in the 34th State Bhawaiya Music Competition" held in Coochbehar in 2023.

Annually, the college publishes its esteemed magazine, capturing the essence of our academic achievements, cultural endeavors, and the collective spirit of our college community.

In the arena of sports, our college has a rich history of excellence. Back in 1940s Sri Runu Guha Thakurta, a student of the college, represented India in soccer in the 1951 Asiad as well as 1952 Helsinki Olympic Games. His footsteps have been followed by two students of the college namely Smt Himasri Roy and Smt Bhairabi Roy who participated in the international sports events for India. Smt. Himasri Roy represented our country as a sprinter in the 2016 ATF and SAF Games while Smt Bhairabi Roy was a national representative in the 2014 Losophony Games. Recently, in 2022 Priya Ghosh, a student of this college won gold and silver medals respectively in Yoga World Cup and International Yoga Championship held in Nepal. Another student, Shyama Mandal, won Gold medals in 200 and 400 meters, at National level East Zone Athletics Meet held in Patna in 2020-21 and in 2022-23.

Numerous former students have excelled in their respective fields. Notable alumni include Subir Sarkar, a distinguished scientist at the Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics; Debesh Roy, an acclaimed author honored with the Sahitya Akademi Award, Dr. Ananda Gopal Ghosh the historian who was awarded "Banga Ratna Samman" by the government of West Bengal, the literary critic, Dr. Asru Kumar Sikdar, recipient of diverse awards and accolades; Maloy De, an IAS officer who served as the former Chief Secretary of West Bengal; Mahendra Nath Roy, former Vice-Chancellor of Alipurduar University; Dipak Roy, Vice-Chancellor of Raiganj University, and many others.

In the realm of politics, the college's alumni have achieved notable success. Amar Chandra Roy, an esteemed graduate, holds the remarkable distinction of being elected as a Member of

Parliament eight consecutive times from 1977 to 1999. Additionally, Shri Mahendra Chandra Roy, Shri Manik Sanyal, and Shri Paresh Chandra Barman have also served as elected representatives in the Parliament. Furthermore, Shri Hitendranath Barman and Shri Nirmal Basu were elected to the legislative assembly and became esteemed members of the state cabinet. Ananta Deb Adhikary, Baccha Mohan Roy, Gobinda Roy, and Paresh Chandra Adhikary have also been elected as members of the Vidhan Sabha. Currently, Dr. Nirmal Chandra Roy, serving as the MLA of Dhupguri, is also an alumnus of this college.

Thus this college has had a profound impact not only on the academic, literary, cultural but also on the political landscape evident through the remarkable achievements of its alumni which continues even to this day.